I’m not a huge (auto)biography fan (no offence to anyone) but I loved Alek Wek. This woman makes me fiercely proud for proving (loudly) that black African is not only beautiful, it’s haute couture. It’s a Vogue cover.

As I read her story, written in that simple, warm, funny way, one word kept coming to mind. Poignant.

She changed forever the way I looked at refugees I see on TV, fleeing wars with their belongings tied up in a sheet on their head. They are not to be pitied. They are to be admired. It confirmed what I always thought of the SPLM.

I am moving next door to a Sudanese family. They don’t know it yet, but they are soo going to teach me how to make kissra bread and dried okra stew. I fell in love with her parents. So that’s why people get married! And with the girl Alek* Wek (how the heck did someone confuse her for Somali model Waris Dirie? I look like Waris Dirie J)

She is a beautiful, inspirational soul. I hope to meet her one day.

 

*If I ever have a daughter, I might name her Alek.

 

©Mugethi Gitau

14/2/2013

