I Have Learnt

28/08/11

 

The big 30 is looming!

It’s supposed to be a scary time

What with saying goodbye to my 20s

I love saying “I’m 29”

Now I gotta say am 30???

 

However looking back at my journey

Am so glad

to have come thus far

for I have learnt so much.

 

I have learnt to live

And not merely be

 

I have learnt who I am

An amazing self discovery

 

I have learnt what I am

I have learnt what am not

 

I have learnt what love is

I have learnt to love

 

I have learnt to trust

I have learnt to forgive

 

I have learnt patience

With myself and others

 

I have learnt that 1981 —à

Is actually my life

 

I have learnt my passion

I have learnt my values

I am learning

My purpose

 

I have learnt my power

And my limitations

 

I have learnt

My boundaries

Where God begins

where I begin

and end

Where others begin

and end

 

I have learnt

To shed the baggage

And travel life

With just my luggage

 

I have learnt

That my box of blessings

Is mine,

And only mine

 

I have learnt (through loss)

That sorrow and suffering

Are my companions

To the High Places

 

I have learnt

That the journey matters

Not just the destination

 

I have learnt

That religion

Is secondary to faith,

love, a relationship with God

 

I have learnt

to let go

and give up

control to God

 

I have learnt there’s a place

Inside my heart

That can never

Be violated

 

I have learnt

Why I exist

Just for love

Love alone

 

©Mugethi Gitau

28/08/11

